Posted in Book Reviews, Queer Reads

Book Review: Out in the Open by A.J. Truman

Libraries are meant for studying – not sex

College sophomore Ethan Follett never says what’s on his mind and never wants to rock the boat. After a high school social life spent anonymous and alone, things are finally falling into place for him. He’s found a group of friends just as studious as he, and is on track for a promising legal career. Out in the open, things couldn’t be better, but secretly Ethan yearns for some real excitement in his life.

He finds it in cocky fratboy Greg Sanderson, who challenges every rigid, preconceived notion Ethan lives by. Soon, their sparring relationship turns sexual, and these enemies-with-benefits get their freak on all over campus. Yet the more Ethan comes out of his shell, the more Greg retreats into his, working overtime to keep his ladies man public persona intact. As the sex gets hotter, and they get closer to getting caught, one part of their arrangement can’t stay hidden any longer: love.

OUT IN THE OPEN is a M/M new adult romance filled with humor, heart, and hot guys. The book is intended for audiences 18+ as it contains explicit sex and language.

arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart

How I Found This Book

I used to get emails from BookGorrilla and this was free for a limited time so I picked it up.

Overall Feeling

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a quick read that definitely conveyed the feeling of falling for a “straight” guy trope. Both sexy and sappy I would read this again and again. There were a few scenes that made me fan myself, they were so hot. But it was the overall story and character development that sold me on this story.

Cons

Definitely too short. I also found it hard to like the main character at times. If he were a friend of mine I would’ve yelled at him to stop being an idiot at least three separate times during this book. I also felt that it had that stereotypical “fall in love right away” feeling that I didn’t completely buy from the main characters.

Pros

It was such a cute story. The falling in love with a “straight” guy trope is one I thoroughly enjoy so I was glad to see it done so well. It wasn’t the typical story but still really reminded me of my college days. I feel that you saw character growth from Ethan throughout, which I loved. You really see him coming into who he is as a person, and shedding some of that self-doubt. I really felt he needed it, and it was very believable as you read it. I also felt the writing was done very well, keeping the reader engaged.

Diversity? (Possible Spoilers)

Queer main characters. Queer author.

Trigger Warnings (Possible Spoilers)

There’s a brief scene that leans a little too close to attempted sexual assault.

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

