Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

In this collection of personal essays, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood reveals stories about life, love, and working as a woman in Hollywood—along with behind-the-scenes dispatches from the set of the new Gilmore Girls, where she plays the fast-talking Lorelai Gilmore once again.

arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart
How I Found This Book

This actually popped up in my “for you” on Amazon. I immediately put it on hold at my library and had to start it the second it came in!

Overall Feeling

Not exactly what I thought it was gonna be but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was interesting to see Graham’s life throughout the years and hear about the work she’s done. I wanted a little more from the Gilmore Girls specific chapters but it was still so much fun to read. Even though I wasn’t thrilled with the revival, reading her words on it showed how much the show meant to the cast. Definitely pick it up if you like Lauren Graham, but if you’re looking for a juicy tell-all this isn’t it.

Cons

Like I said, I would’ve liked more on the Gilmore Girls chapters. They were a little short and the first part was just a recap of her watching the show. I would’ve liked more on meeting each of the other actors and what it was like. I also would’ve liked a little more on the Parenthood part of her life too.

Pros

It was just so great to get to hear about Graham’s life and career. Her writing conveys her humor perfectly and I found myself laughing out loud at times. She really makes her book seem like you’re just conversing with a good friend. I also really enjoyed her sharing the “Kitchen Timer” writing method, which I will be adopting in the new year.

Diversity? (Possible Spoilers)

Female author, and I count female main character since it’s a memoir.

Trigger Warnings (Possible Spoilers)

None that I can think of.

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

