Posted in A Year in Review

A Year In Review – 2016

What a year 2016 has been! In some personal things, I was promoted at work to my dream job. Unfortunately the takes up a ton of my time, but I’ve also been able to see my friends go after their dreams as well. And when work or life gets overwhelming, I always can return to my books.

2016readingchart

In 2016, I’m proud to say I read 113 books in total. A large amount of the books I read were by women, which I’m really happy about. My numbers for books by and about people of color are low though, so I plan to work on that in the new year. It’s also interesting to me that I read a decent number of books about queer/trans characters, but not as many of them were written by queer/trans authors. There’s a large female authorship writing queer romances, which isn’t a bad thing, but I wanna try and read more queer/trans works by queer/trans authors.

I also want to add more to my non-fiction pile this year. I have HUGE stacks of non-fiction books that I haven’t read so I’m gonna be pushing some of those to the top of the list as well. Especially some non-fiction by and about people of color. Last year had some good ones come out that I need to catch up on, and I’m sure this year will bring some good ones too.

I’m also proud that out of 113 books, only 8 had no diversity of any form. Next year I want it to be an even smaller number. Plus I think I’m going to start trying to track whether the books and authors I’m reading are disabled. I definitely don’t read many books where a main character has some kind of disability, either physical or mental but I want to try to.

I’m not sure what all the new year will bring for me. More grant writing, more cases at work, and definitely more books are my guesses. But I’m hopeful to see what all comes out of my reading this year.

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

