Posted in Bookish Lists

Bookish List: 2017 Bookish Resolution

It’s that time of year again. The time to make resolutions and changes in your life. There’s something great about the start of the year. It shows us we can start over, reminding us that though there might be an end, there is always a beginning. The new year brings a chance to fix what may have been broken and become the person you’ve always wanted to be.

So what are my bookish resolutions for 2017? Well they’re actually quite simple.

  1. Read 125 books

Last year I committed to reading 100 books (of any kind) and I was able to pass that goal. So, this year I want to bump the number up (just a little). I try to keep my reading a good mix of fiction, non-fiction, adult, young adult, children’s, graphic novels, etc. I’m hoping to continue to do more reading, as it helps take away the stresses of the day from my job.

  1. Buy less books

I know I know. This sounds crazy. How am I doing a book blog and saying I should buy less books? Because I currently have 577 UNREAD books in my house. That’s crazy. I keep buying more and then putting them on the shelf only to check out more books from the library. So this year I want to focus on the books I already have. Now I’m not saying I’ll stop buying books completely. Instead I just won’t go book shopping every weekend.

  1. Write more

I use to write every day before I started my job. While I’m not sure I’ll get back to that level, I want to get back into writing. And not just the stuff I write for this blog. But poetry, or short stories, or essays, or anything really. I just want to get back to that.

  1. Use this blog for a year

This one is the most important one to me. According to the colors test, I’m an Orange, meaning I start one project and immediately jump to the next without finishing the first. And that’s been true so far. I have unfinished books, languages to be learned, GRE exams to be studied for, and yet I always leave it behind to start something new. The only thing that’s been consistent for me really is my love of books. So I want to make sure that I use this blog for a full year. And while I may change up what I’m doing throughout the year, I need to do it for a while.

arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart

I always find myself excited for a new year. The new year is like the first page of a book filled with adventure. It’s the first stroke of the pen on a fresh page, open to whatever your mind is ready to spill out. This coming year will be another chapter in my life, a chance to make mistakes and create new things. A chance to grow, to learn, to love. A chance to continue to become the man I can be, the man I want to be. And I will always look forward to that. So, here’s to another year. I hope you all enjoy it.

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

One thought on “Bookish List: 2017 Bookish Resolution

Leave a Reply

