Posted in Bookish Confessions

Bookish Confession: Did Not Finish

My name is Robin and I have a confession.

  *This is where you’d all say “Hi Robin” before I begin*

I do not always finish a book. Back before I went to college, I always had to finish any book I started. No matter what. But since I tend to be a one-book-at-a-time kind of guy that means it could be a while before I can start the next book.

However, when I was in college I did two internships, 5 classes per semester, and a volunteer program so my reading took a backburner. The second I finished school I threw myself back into reading. And that’s when it hit me that, if I want to read all the books I want to read, why waste time on a book I don’t want to read. I typically give a book about 50 pages, and if I’m not interested I just move on. Honestly, it’s helped free up my time to read books I’m actually enjoying rather than just reading to read.

Now, I don’t just throw away books like the picture at the top suggests! I’m not a total monster. And I realize that just because I don’t like a book doesn’t mean someone else won’t. I typically just sell it back to the used bookstore or even donate it to the Friend’s of Library store. And I typically won’t give a full review to a book I didn’t finish. Unless there’s something EXTREMELY terrible about it, in which I’ll definitely discuss it.

So there it is. I’m a DNFer (that stands for Do-Not-Finish in case you’re not used to seeing that acronym) and I’m okay with it. But what about you?

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

