Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Storm Vol. 1 Make It Rain and Storm Vol. 2 Bring the Thunder

Thief. Goddess. Headmistress. Queen. The X-Man called Storm has always defied a single title. And her desire to better the world has never been limited to only her own kind. On an ongoing mission to foster goodwill and safeguard both mankind and mutants, Ororo Munroe will travel the globe, confronting villains, gods, monsters and everything in between. She will overthrow tyrants, quell tsunamis and strive to see her dream for the world realized. She is Storm, a hero like no other…and the skies will tremble at the sight of their namesake. But now, Storm must handle the fallout caused by familiar faces from her past.arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart

How I Found This Book

I found the first volume while perusing my local comic book store. I then immediately went home and put a note on my calendar for when the second volume came out.

Overall Feeling

Storm has been one of my favorite X-Men characters since the beginning of time. She’s always been a smart and strong leader, and has deserved her own run for years. And this did not disappoint. I loved seeing her struggle with being the headmaster at Xavier’s school as she’s always so used to doing so much more. And I loved seeing her relationship with Logan. A must pick up for any Storm fan.

Cons

I know it may seem small, but I just wish it had been written by a woman of color. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the storylines that Greg Pak did. It’s just that it would be nice to have Storm written by a woman of color. I also felt that I wish it had been wrapped up a little better. Now, I’m not sure if they knew the last issue would be the last issue or not because it seems like it ended prematurely (which I do believe it was canceled but don’t quote me). But I would’ve liked a more complete ending to the run.

Pros

Everything else. But seriously I loved her characterization here. I loved seeing Storm talk about her past and seeing old characters pop up. I especially loved her and Gambit going back to their thieving roots. I felt that Storm showed her leadership skills in this run plus took no shit from anyone. I loved the artwork as well in both volumes and the cover art was spectacular.

Diversity? (Possible Spoilers)

Features a woman of color lead.

Trigger Warnings (Possible Spoilers)

None

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

One thought on “Book Review: Storm Vol. 1 Make It Rain and Storm Vol. 2 Bring the Thunder

Leave a Reply

