Posted in Bookish Confessions

Bookish Confessions: In Defense of E-Readers

 

Hey everyone. It’s me again, here to confess something else. I. Love. E-Readers.

1homxt

I know that in the Reading Community there’s a divide between whether e-readers are good or bad. I remember when they first started up and people were afraid that it was gonna be the end of print books. It’s been a while now and we see that it hasn’t been, but e-readers still cause divides in the book community. I, for one, am 100% in favor of them. Which I know I don’t use mine as much, but I still believe they are amazing. Why?

Well first, they a convenient size and can hold a ton of books. I’m packing for a trip right now, and while I’m bringing some physical books, I’m loving that the kindle can fit right into my carry-on bag without taking much room. Plus I can have a ton more books on my Kindle than I can in my suitcase. It fits snuggly in my work bag and I can bring it to conferences to have during the lunch breaks. And honestly, these days the battery life really is amazing.

Now I won’t try and use prices as point in e-readers favor, as it seems that lately you only save a few bucks. But if you sign up with things like BookGorilla or Overdrive through your library you can get free books that way. Plus, it’s online shopping, except your purchase shows up right away, rather than waiting for it to ship!

Now my biggest reason though, is because it has been the best thing for queer people in ages. I first bought a Kindle when the very first one came out. The second I saw it I knew I had to have it. I was working at a Hungry Howie’s and my next paycheck went straight towards that and one book. As soon as it was in my hands, I hid myself in my room and search the Amazon website for hours and hours until I found the perfect book. The thing was, I was in the closet at this time. While I’m sure many suspected, no one knew I was queer. So this was my chance to finally read a queer book. I finally settled on The Vast Fields of Ordinary by Nick Burd (which I have not regretted as shown by this review) and stayed up all night to read it. Finally, I had found the books meant for me. I spent hours finding all sorts of queer books that were self-published and free that I could read without anyone being the wiser. I could sit in the living room with family and read the book without them knowing I was queer. Even after I first came out, I was still too nervous to go purchase a queer book in a bookstore. Kindle was the answer to that for me. While I now have no issue buying queer books now, I still use the Kindle to access a ton of diverse queer novels.

Overall, the choice is up to you. You can buy an e-reader or not. You can read physical books or not. Hell, you can read at all or not. The issue comes in when we try and shame or put others down because they don’t like to do things the same way we do.

But that’s just my feelings I guess.

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

One thought on “Bookish Confessions: In Defense of E-Readers

  1. There’s definitely something to be said for the access and the privacy provided by e-books. I have three different e-reading apps on my phone, all free through my library, and easily 90% of what I read on them is queer. And probably 98% of that *isn’t* owned by the library in print – I do prefer print generally but when the choice is e-book or nothing I am more than happy to take the e-book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

