Posted in Bookish Lists

Bookish List: Some Bookish Opinions

I thought about calling this Unpopular Bookish Opinions but I decided not to, because who gets to decide whats popular! So instead, here’s just some opinions I have on bookish things.

 arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart

  1. I like e-readers.

I wrote a whole piece in defense of e-readers (which you can find here) but I just really do like them. I love how many books they can hold and how light they are. It’s been especially useful when flying or traveling in general. I find myself bringing less physical books on vacations/trips now.

  1. I don’t like series lasting longer than a trilogy.

I have the shortest attention span. Like super short. A lot of times, after the third book, I’m just tired of being in that world. I don’t know what it is or how to change it. It’s interesting and as I look back, I can usually handle a longer series if I read them as they come out. I remember reading A Series of Unfortunate Events as it happened and I loved it. But after the last one came out, I tried to do a complete reread of them all before reading the last one, and I couldn’t make it past the fourth. I think a part of it may be that there’s so many interesting worlds and characters out there, and I want to read them all so after three books I feel like I’ve spent my time with them. Who knows if this will ever change but, we’ll see.

  1. I love romance books.

I am in love with romance. I know some people knock romance books, but I can’t get enough of them. While the happily ever after may be cliché, it’s exactly what I need. I spend my days running a rape crisis program, and while I do spend some time reading about social justice and hard issues, sometimes I just need to come home and read something where nothing goes wrong. I need to know sometimes that when I pick up a book I don’t have to worry about triggers or trauma. Sometimes I just wanna know that main character finds the one and lands the job and gets it all. I need to know that there is still light in the darkness.

  1. I don’t organize my bookshelf.

This is because of two reasons. One is that most of my books are unread. So, I just throw them haphazardly on the bookshelves until I want to read them. However, I do have a bookcase for my nonfiction, a bookcase for my fiction, and a bookcase for the queer books. The other reason is that I keep so few books that they don’t really need to be organized. It’s easy to find them because they hardly take up two shelves.

  1. I’m bored with heterosexual stories.

I’m just tired of them. I want something different. Give me two men in love. Give me two women finding out they’re meant to be. Give me a character who identifies as bisexual or pansexual. Give me a character who identifies as transgender or gender non-conforming. I just need diversity. Something new. Something different. Something fresh.

So those are just some of my opinions about bookish things. What are some of yours?

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

