Posted in Bookish Lists

Bookish List: Bookish Problems

 

*Picture by Sarah Anderson. You can find it here.

  1. No comfy reading positions

Sometimes I will go from my couch to a chair to my bed to the floor to back to the couch and all over again. It’s like trying to find cell phone reception in the early 2000s. How can it be this hard just to get comfy? I’m 90% sure this wouldn’t even be an issue if I had a bathtub that I could actually fit in, as I would spend every second I could just sitting in a hot bath reading.

  1. The Book Buying problem

I talked about this as part of my Book Resolutions but it’s a serious problem. The second I enter a bookstore I have to pick up books. I try to tell myself to remember all the books I have at home but then there’s that new book in the series I started or the book that I heard about on that podcast. It’s just so hard to stop picking them up. It also doesn’t help that there’s a local used bookstore and Friend’s of the Library bookstore so I can always pick up a ton of books on the cheap.

  1. No room for new books

Of course once you buy all those books you have to put them on their appropriate bookshelves. Or in my case, because I’m overflowing with books, into their appropriate stacks… I currently own 5 bookshelves and still have multiple stacks on the floor of books because I just keep running out of space. For every book I donate, I buy 5 more. It’s an addiction I tell you!

  1. Unknowingly starting a new series.

I’m a big fan of binge reading a series. I prefer to read the whole series from start to finish, staying in the world and with the characters for as long as I can. Occasionally, I’ll start a series that hasn’t completed yet but only if I hear AMAZING things about it. Otherwise, I mark it on my list and wait until the final book comes out. So there is nothing more I hate then to find out that a book I’m reading is the first in a series that isn’t all out yet! Especially if the first book ends on a cliffhanger. I can usually get over it, if it’s a one-off book that then becomes so popular that they decide to write a sequel, but when it’s the first in a planned series, I just wish they’d put that on the cover!

  1. Nobody to talk to about books.

Unfortunately, all my book-loving friends have moved away. And while we’ve started our own Postal Book Club, I still wish they were here to talk books with. I’ve considered trying to join an in-person book club (my library even does one monthly) but I find it hard to talk to people I don’t know outside of work things. It’s especially hard when I’ve finished such a good book and have no one to discuss or share my favorite parts with.

  1. A fandom of one

Which leads to trying to find an online community to talk about the book with. I typically search Goodreads or just google the book plus “book review” to try to find someone who’s talked about the book. But seeing as I love queer novels, they seem to have smaller fan-bases. Especially queer comics I’m finding. It can suck when I search on Goodreads, and no one else has marked a book as “read” or done a review. I guess one really is the loneliest number.

  1. Book hangover

Most people know of a book hangover as when you cannot start a new book because you’re still living in the last book’s world. This gets especially difficult because when I don’t start another book I then spend more time beating myself up about all the books I should be reading so that my To-Be-Read list can go down. Usually I just have to sit myself down and tell myself that I’m going to start a new book now. It usually tends to work but it’s still a huge nuisance.

  1. Mourning – Characters, series, author’s writing

When a character we love dies, we feel it. When a series is finally and truly over, we feel it. When author we love writes a shitty book, we feel it. But no one understands our need to mourn these things. Especially people who don’t like reading. They cannot understand why when a character dies, we cry and sometimes need to eat copious amounts food to deal. They don’t understand how the written word can affect us so much. But for us readers, it makes all the sense in the world.

arrow-bow-old-shoot-weapon-feathers-5d2jlw-clipart

So those are some of my Bookish Problems. What are yours??

Author:

Robin spends most of his time running a certified rape crisis center. In his off hours he uses reading as a way to recharge and re-energize.

Leave a Reply

